Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Kenan Thompson To Host 2022 NHL Awards: Live Stream, Free CBS TV

June 21

How to watch the NHL Awards 2022: Finalists, TV channel, time, FREE live stream




The 2022 NHL Honors, including the announcement of the coveted MVP award — the Hart Trophy — will take place Tuesday, June 21 (6/21/2022) at the Armature Works in Tampa.

The awards ceremony will be broadcast live on ESPN at 7 p.m. ET. It can be streamed live on fuboTV, DirecTV Stream and other live TV services.

Kenan Thompson returns to host the 1-hour ceremony for the first time since 2019, which is also the last time it was presented live. The NHL has descended on Tampa for the first half of the week, both for games 3 and 4 of the Stanley Cup Finals between the Lightning and the Avalanche, and for the NHL Awards show.

Five awards are presented during the show:

The Hart Trophy (NHL most valuable player)
Vezina Trophy (top goalie)
Norris Trophy (top defenseman)
Calder Trophy (rookie of the year)
Ted Lindsay Award (most outstanding player as voted by the NHL Players’ Association)

The winners of nine previously announced 2021-22 NHL awards will also be recognized during the show.

This year, the winners will share the stage with special presenters, who are highlights themselves. The list of presenters includes:

Seattle Kraken fan Nadia Popovici, who discovered a cancerous mole on the neck of Vancouver Canucks assistant equipment manager Red Hamilton from behind the glass.
Calgary Flames assistant GM and ALS survivor and advocate Chris Snow.
Milton Academy player Jake Thibeault, who was paralyzed by an injury in 2021.
Emergency backup goalie Thomas Hodges, who overcame blindness in one eye to play for the Anaheim Ducks.
Martin Lafleur, son of the late Montreal Canadiens icon Guy Lafleur.

Here are the finalists for each award on Tuesday night:

Hart Trophy (MVP)

Auston Matthews, Toronto Maple Leafs
Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers
Igor Shesterkin, New York Rangers

Vezina Trophy (Best goalie)

Jacob Markstrom, Calgary Flames
Juuse Saros, Nashville Predators
Igor Shesterkin, New York Rangers

Norris Trophy (Best defenseman)

Victor Hedman, Tampa Bay Lightning
Roman Josi, Nashville Predators
Cale Makar, Colorado Avalanche

Calder Trophy (Rookie of the year)

Michael Bunting, Toronto Maple Leafs
Trevor Zegras, Anaheim Ducks
Moritz Seider, Detroit Red Wings

Ted Lindsay Award (Most outstanding player)

Roman Josi, Nashville Predators
Auston Matthews, Toronto Maple Leafs
Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers

Where can I live stream the NHL Awards FREE online?

Cable subscribers can log in to ESPN.com or associated apps with their cable credentials to stream the event for free.

Cord cutters can sign up for free trials of fuboTV, DirecTV Stream, Sling or YouTube TV to enjoy free broadcasts for a limited time.

What TV channel is it on?

The Awards will be broadcast on ESPN. Viewers in Canada can also find the award show on SN and TVAS. Channel finder: Verizon Fios, XFinity, Spectrum, Optimum/Altice, Cox, DirecTV, Dish

The 2022 NHL Awards – celebrating the National Hockey League’s best regular-season performances – will be hosted by Emmy Award-winning actor Kenan Thompson live from Tampa, Fla., tonight, June 21, at 7 p.m. ET on ESPN and ESPN+.

WHAT: 2022 NHL Awards will reveal the winners of five awards – the Hart Trophy (most valuable player), Vezina Trophy (top goaltender), Norris Trophy (top defenseman), Calder Trophy (rookie of the year) and Ted Lindsay Award (most outstanding player as voted by the National Hockey League Players’ Association).

The three finalists for the Jim Gregory General Manager of the Year Award will also be announced during the NHL Awards live show, and the winner named at the 2022 Upper Deck NHL Draft in Montreal July 7-8.

WHEN & WHERE: Tuesday, June 21, at 7 p.m. ET on ESPN and ESPN+

WHO: Host Kenan Thompson will be joined by presenters: ESPN and NHL Network analyst Kevin Weekes, ESPN SportsCenter anchor Ashley Brewer, Sportsnet and Hockey Night in Canada personalities David Amber and Elliotte Friedman, and several inspiring figures whose stories of resilience touched and inspired the hockey community this season.


Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award: Anze Kopitar (Los Angeles Kings)
Jack Adams Award: Darryl Sutter (Calgary Flames)
Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy: Carey Price (Montreal Canadiens)
Willie O’Ree Community Hero Award presented by MassMutual: Noel Acton (Tender Bridge Foundation)
Frank J. Selke Trophy: Patrice Bergeron (Boston Bruins)
Lady Byng Memorial Trophy: Kyle Connor (Winnipeg Jets)
King Clancy Memorial Trophy: K. Subban (New Jersey Devils)
J. McGuire Award of Excellence: Lane Hutson
Jim Gregory General Manager of the Year Award: three finalists will be announced

For more on the NHL awards, including a list of past winners, click here.

2022 STANLEY CUP FINAL – GAME 4: Following the NHL Awards on Tuesday night, the Stanley Cup Final resumes with Game 4 on Wednesday, June 22, at 8 p.m. ET on ABC, ESPN+, ESPN Deportes and the ESPN App.




Danny Chi | danny.c.chi@espn.com | 213-405-4400

Grace Coryell | grace.s.coryell@espn.com | 213-405-4402

Andrea DiCristoforo | andrea.discristoforo@espn.com | 603-759-7670


June 21

Events are submitted by Brooklyn residents.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.