Healthfirst, Women's History Month, trailblazing women, Congresswoman Yvette Clarke, Lin Tan, Jacqueline Contreras , FDNY Deputy Chief Tonya Boyd,
Honorees flanked by Gaye Anderson, Deputy Bronx Borough President Marricka Scott-McFadden and George Hulse. Photo credit: Yaw Asare Aboagye.

Two pioneering Brooklyn women were among the ten honorees for Healthfirsts annual Womens History Month Community Awards Celebration on Thursday, March 29. The not-for-profit health insurance company recognized the accomplishments of Congresswoman Yvette Clarke and FDNY Deputy Chief Tonya Boyd, the first African American woman to attain this rank within the New York City Fire Department.

The honorees have made an outsized impact across the five boroughs and are role models for their courage, character and commitment, said George Hulse, Healthfirst vice president of Community Engagement. These women reflect the fabric of our city and work daily to improve conditions for others. Healthfirst is proud to salute these women.

For the third consecutive year, Healthfirst honored trailblazing women for their community service and their commitment to civic and social responsibility. This year’s honorees included Congresswoman Yvette D. Clarke; Dr. Marcella Maxwell, Brooklyn College clinical supervisor of teaching fellows; NYPD Community Affairs Chief Nilda Irizarry-Hofmann; FDNY Deputy Chief Tonya Boyd; Grammy Award-winning music teacher Melissa Salguero; Jacqueline Contreras, Telemundo 47; Lin Tan, Sinovision TV; Dr. Carmen M. Garcia-Albarran; April Simpson, Queensbridge Houses Resident Association president and Manhattan Borough President Gale Brewer.

Take a look at the photos this great celebration of women leaders.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.